Criminal Law – Drug offences

• Canada’s Cannabis Act: Annotation & Commentary by Russel Bennett, Alan Young Table of Contents
• Cannabis Law, 2nd ed. by Bruce A. MacFarlane, Robert J. Frater, Croft Michaelson Table of Contents
• Defending Drug Cases, 4th ed. by Michael Bolton Table of Contents
• Drug Offences in Canada, 4th ed. by Bruce A. MacFarlane, Robert J. Frater, Croft Michaelson Table of Contents
• The Practical Guide to the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, 4th ed. by Theresa M. Brucker Table of Contents
• Prosecuting and Defending Drug Cases, 2nd ed. by Nathan Gorman … [et al]. Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text.
• Prosecuting and Defending Drug Offences, 2nd ed.  by Peter M. Brauti & Brian G. Puddington Table of Contents
• Sentencing Drug Offenders by Simon Armstrong Table of Contents
• Wigmore on Cannabis: the Forensic Toxicology of Marijuana for Lawyers and Other Medicolegal Professionals by James G. Wigmore Table of Contents

Last revised Jan. 25, 2024

• Tremeear’s Criminal Code: and the Following Related Statutes, Canada Evidence Act, Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, Food and Drugs Act, Narcotic Control Act, Young Offenders Act by David Watt, Michelle K. Fuerst Table of Contents
• Crankshaw’s Criminal Code of Canada: R.S.C. 1985 by Gary P. Rodrigues Table of Contents
• Martin’s Annual Criminal Code by J.C. Martin Table of Contents
• Practitioner’s Criminal Code by Alan D. Gold Table of Contents
• Snow’s Annotated Criminal Code by Rod Heather Table of Contents

Last revised Apr. 6, 2023

• ICLR
• LexisAdvance® Quicklaw® 
• vLex Justis
• Westlaw Canada

• Canadian Criminal Cases (CCC)
• Criminal Reports (CR, CRNS)

A collection of the judgments of the Alberta Courts is available from CanLII. The official version of the reasons for judgment is the signed original or handwritten endorsement in the court file. If there is a question about the content of a judgment, the original court file takes precedence.

• CanLII – Alberta Court of Justice judgments
• CanLII – Court of King’s Bench judgments
• CanLII – Court of Appeal judgments

The Canadian Abridgment available on: Westlaw Canada

All Canadian Summaries, Canadian Case Summaries and Canada Digest are available on: LexisAdvance® Quicklaw®

Canadian encyclopedic digest (C.E.D.) (Western), 4th ed.

Sections related to Drug Offences include:

• Criminal law – Defences. 
• Criminal law – Offences. 

The CED provides discussion of these areas of law with annotations to legislation and case law.

Available electronically through: Westlaw Canada

Halsbury’s laws of Canada is a multi-volume set includes coverage of Federal, Provincial & Territorial legislation. Also available electronically through: LexisAdvance® Quicklaw®

This encyclopedia explains the legislation and cases which govern family law issues in every jurisdiction in Canada, allowing you to quickly locate, contextualize and apply the basic elements of the law.

Titles related to Drug Offences include:

• Controlled Drugs and Substances (HDS)
• Criminal Offences and Defences (HCR)

Additional information may be found under other topical headings.

• Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) Available electronically on Westlaw Canada and Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
• Current index to Legal Periodicals – Available electronically on HeinOnline

Additional full-text articles are available electronically through:

• vLex Justis
• HeinOnline – provides full-text access to Canadian and international law reviews and legal journals.
• Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
• Westlaw Canada contains a collection of Canadian journals and law reviews, as well as all articles and case comments appearing in Carswell law reports.

• For the Defence Criminal Lawyers’ Association Newsletter

• The Canadian Association of Drug Treatment Court Professionals
• Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse
• Canadian Foundation for Drug Policy
• Illicit Drugs and Crime in Canada (Juristat – Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics)
• Methamphetamine Report for Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministers Responsible for Justice (Department of Justice, Canada)
• National Anti-Drug Strategy (Government of Canada)
• Profile and Projections of Drug Offences (Department of Justice, Canada)
• Trends in Drug Offences and the Role of Alcohol and Drugs in Crime (Juristat – Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics)

• The Media Awareness Project: Drug Policy Links