Aboriginal Law is a complex area that encompasses issues concerning First Nations peoples and their relationship with governments, rights to land, rights to tradition and rights to self government. In this guide, you will find resources available in our library, as well as links to external resources that are key to understanding this area of law.
- Aboriginal & treaty rights practice by Mary Locke Macaulay Table of Contents
- Aboriginal law handbook, 5th ed. by Olthuis, Kleer, Townshend Table of Contents
- Aboriginal legal issues : cases, materials and commentary, 5th ed. by John Borrows Table of Contents
- Constitutional law of Canada, 5th ed. by Peter W. Hogg. Table of Contents
- Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada Table of Contents
- Indigenous People and the criminal justices system : a practitioner’s handbook by Jonathan Rudin. Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text.
- Metis – Crown relations : rights, identity, jurisdiction and governance by Frederica Wilson & Melanie Mallet Table of Contents Also available as an e-text
- Native Law by Jack Woodward Table of Contents
- Terms of Coexistence : Indigenous Peoples and Canadian Law by Sebastien Grammond Table of Contents
The Canadian Abridgment available on: WestlawNext Canada
All Canadian Summaries, Canadian Case Summaries and Canada Digest are available on: Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
Alberta Court Judgments
A collection of judgments of the Alberta Courts is available from CanLII. The scope of coverage varies by jurisdiction and court. The official version of the reasons for judgment is the signed original or handwritten endorsement in the court file. If there is a question about the content of a judgment, the original court file takes precedence.
For a complete list of Federal acts and regulations that directly impact First Nations, Inuit, and Métis see :
- Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
- First Nations Gazette First Nation laws, by-laws, land codes, and other First Nation legislation
All Federal Acts and Regulations can be found electronically at:
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest
Sections relevant to aboriginal law include:
- Aboriginal law
- Constitutional law
Available electronically through: WestlawNext Canada
Halsbury's Laws of Canada
This multi-volume set includes coverage of Federal, Provincial & Territorial legislation. It explains the legislation and cases which govern aboriginal law issues in every jurisdiction in Canada.
Titles related to aboriginal law include:
- Aboriginal (HAB)
Additional information may be found under other topical headings.
Also available electronically through : LexisAdvance Quicklaw
- Constitutional forum
- Indigenous law journal
- National journal of constitutional law = Revue nationale de droit constitutionnel
- Review of constitutional studies
Full-text articles are also available electronically through:
First Nations – Library and Archives
Gallop Portal – Government and Legislative Libraries online publications portal. Contains full text documents and reports on Indigenous matters.
Indigenous Studies Research Portal – University of Saskatchewan
Native Counselling Services of Alberta -They provide in and out of court assistance in Criminal, Family & Traffic court for Aboriginal youth and adults.
Native Law Centre – University of Saskatchewan
Treaties with Indigenous peoples in Canada – Canadian Encyclopedia
We connect you to the world of legal information in an open and innovative environment.
When you need it. How you need it.