In this guide, you will find information, resources, and links about Intellectual Property Law. This includes some of the following subjects:
- Trade Marks
- Intellectual Property Law and Business
- Intellectual Property Agreements
- Canada’s Intellectual Property Law in a Nutshell, 2nd ed. by Martin P. Kratz Table of Contents
- Canadian Intellectual Property Law & Strategy: trademarks, copyright, & industrial designs by John S. McKeown Table of Contents
- Competition Policy and Intellectual Property by Marcel Boyer et al. Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text
- The Corporate Counsel Guide to Intellectual Property Law by Sheldon Burshtein Table of Contents
- Intellectual Property: the law in Canada, 2nd ed. by Elizabeth F. Judge & Daniel J. Gervais Table of Contents
- Intellectual Property Law: copyright, patents, trade-marks, 2nd ed. by David Vaver Table of Contents
Also available as an e-text
- Intellectual Property Law of Canada by Elliott Stikeman & Stuart C. McCormack Table of Contents
- I Thought of That!: a practical guide to patents, trade-marks, and copyright by Ronald E. Dimock Table of Contents
- Legal Protection of Software: patents and trade-marks by Christopher C. Van Barr Table of Contents
- Copyright : Cases and Commentary on the Canadian and International Law, 2nd ed. by Barry Sookman, Steven Mason & Carys Craig Table of Contents
- Copyright and Piracy: an Interdisciplinary Critique by Lionel Bently et al. Table of Contents
- The Copyright Pentalogy: how the Supreme Court of Canada Shook the Foundations of Canadian Copyright Law by Michael Geist Table of Contents
- Digital Copyright law by Cameron Hutchison Table of Contents
Also available as an e-text
- Fox Canadian Law of Copyright and Industrial Designs, 4th ed. by John S. McKeown Table of Contents. Also available through Westlaw
- Hughes on Copyright and Industrial Design, 2nd ed. by Roger T. Hughes et al. Table of Contents. Also available through LexisAdvance Quicklaw
- In the Public Interest: the Future of Canadian Copyright Law by Michael Geist Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text.
- Protecting Copyright and Industrial Design 2000, 2nd ed. by Martin P. Kratz Table of Contents
- Canadian Patent Law, 3rd ed. by Stephen J. Perry and T. Andrew Currier Table of Contents
- Canadian Patent Law Benchbook, 3rd ed. by Donald Cameron ed. Table of Contents
- Hughes & Woodley on Patents, 2nd ed. by Roger T. Hughes et al. Table of Contents
- Obtaining Patents, 2nd ed. by Martin P. J. Kratz Table of Contents
- Patent Law of Canada by Gordon F. Henderson Table of Contents
- Canadian trademark law, 2nd ed. by Teresa Scassa Table of Contents
- Canadian trademark law Benchbook, 3rd ed. by Donald Cameron ed. Table of Contents
- Fox on Canadian Law of Trade-marks & Unfair Competition, 4th ed. by Scott R. Jolliffe & Kelly A. Gill Table of Contents
- Hughes on Trade Marks, 2nd ed. by Roger T. Hughes Table of Contents
- Law of Domain Names & Trade-marks on the Internet by Sheldon Burshtein Table of Contents
- Odutola on Canadian Trademark Practice by Bayo Odutola & Sylvie-Emanuelle Bourbonnais Table of Contents
- Trade-marks and unfair competition law in Canada : cases and commentary, 2nd ed. by Bita Amani, Carys Craig. Table of Contents
Intellectual Property and Business
- Branding and copyright for charities and non-profit organizations, 2nd ed. by Terrance Carter & Shen Goh Table of Contents
- Brand Management in Canadian Law, 4th ed. by John S. McKeown Table of Contents
- Canada’s Internet Law in a Nutshell by Martin P. J. Kratz Table of Contents
- Commercializing Research and Development: a Guide to Legal and Business Practice, 2nd ed. by Lazar Sarna. Table of Contents
- Employment Obligations & Confidential Information, 3rd ed. by Gregory K. Steele & Kenneth Thornicroft Table of Contents
- Information Technology Transactions: Business, Management and Legal Strategies, 2nd ed. by Duncan Cornell Card Table of Contents
- Intellectual Property Disputes: Resolutions & Remedies by Ronald E. Dimock Table of Contents
- Law of Confidential Business Information by Keith G. Fairbairn & Julie A. Thorburn Table of Contents
- Ramsay on technology transfers and licensing, 3rd ed. by John Ramsay Table of Contents
- Secured Lending in Intellectual Property, 2nd ed. by Kiriakoula Hatzikiriakos. Table of Contents
- Security Interests in Intellectual Property by Howard P. Knopf Table of Contents
- Sookman: Computer, Internet & Electronic Commerce Law by Barry B. Sookman Table of Contents
- Technology Contracting: Law, Precedents and Commentary by Brad Limpert Table of Contents
Forms and Precedents
- Canadian Forms & Precedents: Commercial Transactions. Information Technology & Entertainment, 2nd ed. by Lisa K. Abe et al. Table of Contents
- Canadian Forms & Precedents: Commercial Transactions. Intellectual Property, 2nd ed. by Toni Ashton Table of Contents
- Forms and Agreements on Intellectual Property & International Licensing, 3rd ed. by Leslie William Melville Table of Contents
- Franchising, Licensing and Distribution Forms & Precedents by Edward N. Levitt & Lawrence M. Weinberg Table of Contents
- Intellectual Property Management: Best Practices by John T. Ramsay Table of Contents
- Intellectual property litigation : forms and precedents by Paul Lomic Table of Contents
Includes CD with forms
- O’Brien’s encyclopedia of forms, 11th ed. by John Honsberger
Available at Alberta Law Libraries
- Canadian Patent Reporter (C.P.R.)
This title is also available online through Westlaw.
- Patent, Trade Mark, Design and Copyright Cases
This title is also available online through Westlaw.
- Copyright Board of Canada – Includes administrative decisions of the Board since 1990.
- Decisions of the Commissioner of Patents – Includes decisions of the Commissioner since 1989.
- Trade-Marks Opposition Board – Includes coverage of the Board’s decisions since 1990.
- Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- WestlawNext – Canada (LawSource)
For more information on finding cases see our research guide : Finding and Researching Cases
CanLII provides free searchable full-text access to Canadian case law. The scope of coverage varies by jurisdiction and court.
Boolean operators, proximity connectors, phrases and date restrictions can be incorporated into your query. Using the [Advanced Search] feature, you can select one or more jurisdictions to be searched, limit your search to appellate decisions, and restrict your search by type of tribunal.
Alberta Court Judgments
A collection of the judgments of the Alberta Courts is available from CanLII. The official version of the reasons for judgment is the signed original or handwritten endorsement in the court file. If there is a question about the content of a judgment, the original court file takes precedence.
- CanLII – Provincial Court judgments
- CanLII – Court of Queen’s Bench judgments
- CanLII – Court of Appeal judgments
In Canada, the regulation of Intellectual Property is a matter of Federal responsibility.
Federal Acts and Regulations can be found electronically at:
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest
Includes coverage of Federal, Provincial (4 Western provinces) and Territorial legislation.
The CED provides discussion with annotations to legislation and case law.
Titles relate to intellectual property include:
Copyright. Volume 14, Title 36
Patents. Volume 44, Title 116
Trade-marks and industrial designs. Volume 53, Title 155
Also available electronically through:
Halsbury's Laws of Canada
This multi-volume set includes coverage of Federal, Provincial & Territorial legislation. Also available electronically through Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
Titles related to Intellectual Property Law include:
Patents, trade secrets and industrial designs (HPT)
Trade-marks, passing off and unfair competition (HTM)
Additional information may be found under other topical headings, and subsequent developments may be located by referring to the Cumulative Supplement.
- Canadian Journal of Law & Technology (CJLT) – Publication ceased in 2007.
- Intellectual Property Journal (IPJ) – Also available on WestlawNext – Canada (LawSource)
This site groups information on all areas of Canadian intellectual property law, and it and provides links to relevant federal legislation, forms, guides, publications, news, and additional information.
The site includes an extensive collection of international material on intellectual property, including treaties and laws.
We connect you to the world of legal information in an open and innovative environment.
When you need it. How you need it.