Pour des ressources en français, voir Droit de la Famille: Ressources en Français.
This research guide contains information on various family law issues including divorce, child and spousal support. It covers both federal and provincial legislation (both statutes and regulations) as these apply to issues in family law. Precedents set by case law are significant.
Texts
General
- Annotated Alberta Family Law Act by K.M. McDougall, C.F. Barber & T.D. Magee
- Alberta Family law practice by Sherry L. Kachur & Scot D.E. Menzies Table of Contents
- Alberta: Marriage, Separation and Divorce, 4th ed. by Jean McBean Table of Contents
- Annual review of Family Law by James G. Mcleod & Alfred A. Mamo. Also available as an e-text.
- Basic guide to Canadian family law : what everybody need to know about Canadian family law but could never afford to ask by Julien D. Payne & Marilyn A. Payne. Table of Contents Also available as an e-text.
- Bankruptcy, Insolvency and Family Law, 2nd ed. by Robert Klotz Table of Contents
- Canadian Family Law, 9th ed. by Julien D. Payne & Marilyn A. Payne Table of Contents
Also available as an e-text. - Collaborative Family Law: Another Way to Resolve Family Disputes by Richard W. Shields, Judith P. Ryan & Victoria L. Smith Table of Contents
- Contracts for the family law client editor, Robert M. Halpern Table of Contents
- Enforcement of Family Law Orders and Agreements: Law and Practice by Ann Wilton & Judy Miyauchi Table of Contents
- Family Law Arbitration in Canada, 4th ed. by Ann Wilton & Gary S. Joseph Table of Contents
- Family Law Practice and Procedure by JoAnn Kurtz Table of Contents
- Family Law Professional’s Guide to High-Conflict Litigation: Dynamics not Diagnoses by Benjamin D. Garber, Dana Prescott & Chris Mulchay Table of Contents
- Family property law and practice in Canada Table of Contents available online
- Financial issues in family law by Continuing Legal Education Society of British Columbia
- Making Parenting Plans in Canada’s Family Justice System: Challenges, Controversies and the role of Mental Health Professionals by Rachel Birnbaum & Nicholas Bala Table of Contents
- Parenting Law and Practice in Canada, by Ann Wilton, Gary S. Joseph & Tara Train. Table of Contents
- Tug of War: a Judge’s Verdict on Separation, Custody Battles, and the Bitter Realities of Family Court by Harvey Brownstone Table of Contents
- Unpacking Family Law for Practitioners by Melanie Kraft & Adam Prewer Table of Contents
Last revised July 25, 2024
Child and Spousal Support
- Child Support Guidelines in Canada, 2022 by Julien Payne & Marilyn Payne Table of Contents
- Child Support Guidelines Law and Practice, 2nd ed. by James MacDonald Table of Contents Also available online
- Child Support Guidelines Service, by Terry Hainsworth Table of Contents Also available online
- Spousal Support in Canada, 3rd ed. by Ann Wilton & Noel Semple Table of Contents
- Wilson on Children and Financial Support by Maryellen Symons, Jeffrey Wilson & Farrah Hudani Table of Contents
Last revised Jan. 5, 2023
Forms and Precedents
- Alberta Divorce Kit: Guide, Forms on CD-Rom, 16th ed. by Louise Campbell Table of Contents
- Alberta Family Law Practice Manual by Legal Education Society of Alberta Table of Contents
- Desk Divorces for Legal Support Staff by Legal Education Society of Alberta
Includes forms and explanation on how to fill them out. - Separation Agreement, 5th ed. by David Greig Table of Contents
- Domestic Contracts by Legal Education Society of Alberta Table of Contents
- Domestic Contracts: a Comprehensive Guide to Marriage, Cohabitation, and Separation Agreements in British Columbia and Ontario by Hugh G. Stark & Kirstie J. MacLise Table of Contents
- If you Love me, Put it in Writing by Alison Sawyer Table of Contents
Prenuptial & Cohabitation agreements. Includes CD. - The Prenuptial Guide: Contracts for Lovers by David Greig & Ross Davidson Table of Contents. Includes CD
Last revised Jan. 5, 2023
Case Law
For more information on finding cases see our research guide: Finding and researching cases
- Reports of Family Law (R.F.L.) Also available on Westlaw Canada
E-Resources
Quantums
- Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- Canada Child Support Quantums
- Canada Matrimonial Property Quantums
- Canada Spousal Support Quantums
Legislation
Federal
- Divorce Act, RSC 1985, c3 (2nd supp.).
- Federal Child Support Guidelines, SOR/97-175.
- Family Orders and Agreements Enforcement Assistance Act, RSC 1985, c4 (2nd Supp.).
- Garnishment, Attachment and Pension Diversions Act, RSC 1985, c G-2.
Federal Acts and Regulations can be found electronically at:
Provincial
- Court of King’s Bench Family Law Practice Notes
- Family Law Act, SA 2003, c F-4.5.
- Alberta Child Support Guidelines, Alta Reg 147/2005
- Child Support Recalculation Program Regulation, Alta Reg 287/2009
- Family Property Act, RSA 2000, c F-4.7
- Provincial Court Procedures (Family Law) Regulation, Alta Reg 149/2005
- Marriage Act, RSA 2000, cM-5
- Adult Interdependent Relationships Act, SA 2002, cA-4.5
- Maintenance Enforcement Act, RSA 2000, cM-1
- Protection Against Family Violence Act, RSA 2000, cP-27
To access or purchase the official version, go to: Alberta King’s Printer
Family law legislation concordance is available on Westlaw Canada
Last revised May 23, 2024
Definitions
The following are some of the terms defined within the interpretation section at the start of the
- Divorce Act, RSC 1985, c3 (2nd supp.).
- age of majority
- appellate court
- applicable guidelines
- child of the marriage
- child support order
- contact order
- corollary relief proceeding
- custody
- decision-making responsibility
- family violence
Encyclopedias
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest
The CED provides discussion with annotations to legislation and case law.
Subjects related to Family law are:
- Family Law (Divorce).
- Family Law (General).
- Children.
Available electronically through: Westlaw Canada
Halsbury's Laws of Canada
This multi-volume set which includes coverage of Federal, Provincial & Territorial legislation. Also available electronically through:
This encyclopedia explains the legislation and cases which govern family law issues in every jurisdiction in Canada, allowing you to quickly locate, contextualize and apply the basic elements of the law.
Titles include:
- Family (HFA) Table of Contents
- III Divorce
- VI Spousal Support
- Infants and Children (HIC) Table of Contents
- III Child Support
Journals
- Canadian Family Law Quarterly
Also available on Westlaw Canada - Canadian Journal of Family Law
Also available on LexisAdvance® Quicklaw® and Westlaw Canada
E-Resources
- Reports and research papers
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) available electronically on Westlaw Canada and Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- Current index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) – Available electronically on HeinOnline
Additional full-text articles are available electronically through:
- HeinOnline – Provides full-text access to Canadian and international law reviews and legal journals.
- Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- Family Law (Western Canada) Netletter
- Syrtash Family Law Netletter
- Westlaw Canada contains a collection of Canadian journals and law reviews, as well as all articles and case comments appearing in Carswell law reports.
- Reports of Family Law (R.F.L.) articles available on Westlaw Canada
- CanLII – commentary (contains articles from the former Canadian Research Institute for Law and the Family)
E-Resources
Provincial
The Family Resolution Hub aims to provide Albertans with a new way to explore their options and next steps when initiating a divorce, applying for guardianship or renegotiating a parenting arrangement.
Alberta Courts
- Alberta Courts
- Court and Justice Services (CJS)
- Alberta – Ministry of Justice
- Applying for a parenting order map
- Child Support Recalculation Program
- Maintenance Enforcement Program (MEP)
- Apply for Spousal Partner Support
Videos
Centre for Public Legal Education Alberta (CPLEA)
CPLEA is a public legal education organization dedicated to making information about the law available in readable and understandable language for Albertans.
- Family Law Brochures – many topics
- The Hidden Homeless: Residential Tenancies and Issues of Victims of Domestic Violence
- LawNow – column dedicated to Family Law
Federal
Department of Justice
Family Law
The Child Support webpage provides access to information about the Federal Child Support Guidelines and related information including:
- Child Support Table look up
- Child Support Recalculation Program
- Federal Child Support Guidelines
- Federal Child Support Guidelines: Step-by-step
Spousal Support
The spousal support webpage provides information about spousal support guidelines and related information including:
Steps to using the Spousal Support Advisory Guidelines:
- With Child Support Formula
- Without Child Support Formula
- Enforcing Support
Includes information on enforcing child and spousal support as well as interjurisdictional and international support enforcement. - My Support Calculator
Provides a simple child/spousal support calculation
Parenting Arrangements and Assessments
- Making Plans : A guide to parenting arrangements after separation or divorce
- Parenting Plan Tool : a companion to making plans
- Parenting Assessments and Their Use In Family Law Disputes In Alberta, British Columbia and Ontario
- What happens next? Information for kids on separation and divorce
Divorce
- Divorce
- Central Registry of Divorce
Nationwide registry of divorce applications. They may be able to provide you with the court your divorce was filed in but they will not be able to provide you with a divorce certificate.
Canadian Bar Association
- Legal Health checks : Relationships, separation and divorce
Including breaking up, property and spousal support.
Canadian Judicial Council
Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property
The material contained in this website is intended to assist with the implementation of the Family Homes on Reserves or Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act (the Act) and will provide information on the protections and rights available to individuals and families living on reserves, on the provisional federal rules, once in force, and an understanding of alternative dispute resolution mechanisms.
- Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property
- Matrimonial Real Property (MRP) Toolkit
includes an integrated set of printed materials, worksheets, flow charts, checklists, and training modules designed for use by First Nations and their professional associates.
Other Resources
- Families Change – Provides information on the law and emotional issues encountered during divorce and separation
- JP Boyd on Family Law – Clicklaw wikibook – some information is B.C. specific.
- Adult Adoptions – Alberta
- Private Adoptions– Alberta
- Collaborative Divorce Alberta Blog
Disclaimer: As law librarians, we are pleased to provide you this resource for information and research purposes only – It is not a substitute for professional legal advice. We strive to bring you quality and current information in this resource, but we make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, accessibility, adequacy, or completeness of the information presented here. The sources featured are selected based on professional assessment and opinion, and do not constitute an endorsement, editorial, review, or guarantee.