Bankruptcy

• Alberta business law practice manual by Legal Education Society of Alberta Table of Contents
• Annual Review of Insolvency Law Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text through Westlaw Canada InsolvencySource. This item is issued annually.
• Bankruptcy Law Picture Book: a Brief Intro Into the Law of Bankruptcy, in Pictures by Wela Quan Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text.
• Bankruptcy & Insolvency Law, 2nd ed. by Roderick Wood Table of Contents.  Also available as an e-text.
• Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law of Canada, 4th ed. rev. by L. W. Houlden, C. H. Morawetz & Janis Sara Table of Contents Also available electronically through Westlaw Canada: Insolvency Source.
• Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law of Canada: Cases, Materials and Problems, by Stephanie Ben-Ishai & Thomas G. W. Telfer, editors Table of Contents
• Bankruptcy, Insolvency and Family Law, 2nd ed. by Robert Klotz Table of Contents
• Bennett on Bankruptcy, 26th ed. by Frank Bennett Table of Contents
• Bennett on Consumer Bankruptcy: a Practical Guide for Canadians by Frank Bennett Table of Contents
• Bennett on Receiverships, 4th ed. by Frank Bennett Table of Contents includes precedents
• Bennett’s A to Z guide to small business bankruptcy and insolvency, 2nd ed. / Frank Bennett Table of contents
• Canadian Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law for Commercial Tenancies, by David Bish Table of Contents
• Canadian Commercial Reorganization: Preventing Bankruptcy, by Richard H. McLaren Table of Contents Available online
• Debt restructuring : Principles and practice by John D. Honsberger & Vern W. DaRe Available online.
• Debtor-Creditor and Collections Law in Alberta by McKay White Table of Contents
• Frauds on Creditors: Fraudulent Conveyances and preferences by M.A. Springman Table of Contents Available online
• Honsberger’s Bankruptcy in Canada, 5th ed. by Vern DaRae & John Honsberger Table of Contents
• Priority of Crown claims in insolvency by Francis L. Lamer Table of Contents Available online

Last revised May 16, 2024

• Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law of Canada, 4th ed. rev. by L. W. Houlden, C. H. Morawetz & Janis Sara Table of Contents Also available electronically through Westlaw Canada: Insolvency Source.
• Bankruptcy, Insolvency and Family Law, 2nd ed. by Robert Klotz Table of Contents
• Bennett on Bankruptcy, 26th ed. by Frank Bennett Table of Contents
• Bennett on Bankruptcy Precedents, 3rd ed. by Frank Bennett Table of Contents
• Bennett on Receiverships, 4th ed. by Frank Bennett Table of Contents includes precedents
• Bullen & Leake & Jacob’s Canadian precedents of pleadings, 3rd ed. Table of Contents
• Canadian Forms & Precedents: debtor and creditor by Jennifer E. Babe et al. Table of Contents

Last revised May 16, 2024

Federal

• Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, RSC 1985, c B-3

Provincial

• Landlord’s Rights on the Bankruptcy Act, RSA 2000, c L-5

• Commercial insolvency reporter
• National insolvency review
• Houlden and Morawetz Insolvency Newsletter – electronic resource

• Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) – Available electronically on Westlaw Canada and Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
• Current Index to Legal Periodicals – Available electronically on HeinOnline

Additional full-text articles are available electronically through:

• HeinOnline Provides full-text access to Canadian and international law reviews and legal journals.
• vLex Justis
• Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
• Westlaw Canada contains a collection of Canadian journals and law reviews, as well as all articles and case comments appearing in Carswell law reports.

For more information on looking for journal articles see our research guide Finding journal articles, conference materials & theses

Last revised May 16, 2024

• Alberta Courts – Making an Application for a Discharge from Bankruptcy – court procedure booklet
• Bankruptcy Basics for Albertans – CPLEA
• Bankruptcy – Canadian Legal FAQ’s
• Bankruptcy and Foreclosure – Law Central Alberta
• Collections Agencies – CPLEA
• Debt and Borrowing – Government of Canada
• Debt, Collections, & Bankruptcy (2020) – Student Legal Services of Edmonton
• Foreclosure in Alberta – CPLEA
• Foreclosure Matters: what to do in Court – video by Probono law Alberta
• Got Debt? – webinar by CPLEA
• Got Debt problems? – CPLEA
• Help with Debt Alberta – Centre for Public Legal Education Alberta
• Law Now – search the website for articles on Bankruptcy and Debt
• Money Mentors – credit counselling; can help with creditor negotiations and the orderly payment of debts program.
• Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy – Government of Canada
• Consumer Debt Negotiation Service – Edmonton Community Legal Centre
  • can help with consumer debt negotiation, complete online application to determine if they can help.