Personal Injury – Alberta Law Libraries

Personal Injury (PI). Also referred to as tort law, this area of law deals with an injury to a person or their property for which the person may claim financial compensation in order to be restored as much as possible to the position they enjoyed before the injury

Texts

Available in Alberta Law Libraries

Addressing the jury: achieving fair verdicts in personal injury cases, 2nd ed. by Roger G. Oatley. Table of Contents.
Assessment of personal injury damages, 6th ed. by Christopher J. Bruce, Kelly A. Rathje & Laura J. Weir. Table of Contents.
Canadian insurance defence by Joshua J.A. Henderson. Table of Contents
Damages: estimating pecuniary loss by Cara Brown (available online). Table of Contents.
Goldsmith’s damages for personal injury and death in Canada: Consolidated tables of damages edited by Marshall Reinhart ; contributing editor Liz Rice (available online). Table of Contents.
Insurance case law digest: property and casualty by John Newcombe Table of Contents
Law of costs in personal injury actions by Maia Bent, Alfonso Campos Reales. Table of Contents.
Maximizing damages in small personal injury cases by Ellsworth T. Rundlett. Table of Contents.
Oatley-McLeish guide to personal injury practice in motor vehicle cases by Roger G. Oatley, John A. McLeish. (available online). Table of Contents.
Personal injury law by the Law Society of Upper Canada (available online). Table of Contents.
Personal injury practice manual by Bernard Gluckstein, Lee Samis, consulting editors ; Mark M. Heaney, general editor (Ontario based). Table of Contents.
Personal injury damages in Canada, 3rd ed. by Ken Cooper-Stephenson, Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey. Table of Contents.
Personal injury damage assessments in Alberta prepared by E.A. McAra. Table of Contents.
Remedies: the law of damages, 3rd ed. by Jamie Cassels, Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey (available online). Table of Contents.
Remedies cases and materials, 8th ed. by Jeffrey B. Berryman Table of Contents.
Remedies in tort by Lewis N. Klar… [et al.] (available online). Table of Contents.

Last revised June 11, 2024

Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association Titles

Anatomy of a personal injury case presented by Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association. Table of Contents.
The Cap: traps, tactics & trends presented by Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association. Table of Contents.
Common uncommon issues in personal injury claims presented by Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association. Table of Contents.
Damages: the devil is in the details presented by Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association. Table of Contents.
Top secret: plaintiff PI lawyers only presented by Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association. Table of Contents.
Traumatic brain injury presented by Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association. Table of Contents.

Other Personal Injury titles by Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association in our catalogue.

Last revised Apr. 12, 2024

Westlaw Canada Topical Texts and Annotations

Westlaw Canada Topical Texts and Annotations (TTA) provides access to authoritative texts and annotations from leading experts. It is a series of collections based on specific subject areas, which are fully integrated with the Text and Annotations commentary collection on Westlaw. Below are some titles related to personal injury :

Damages: estimating pecuniary loss by Cara Brown (available online). Table of Contents.
Goldsmith’s damages for personal injury and death in Canada: Consolidated tables of damages edited by Marshall Reinhart; contributing editor Liz Rice (available online). Table of Contents.
Law of damages by S.M. Waddams. Table of Contents.
Oatley-McLeish guide to personal injury practice in motor vehicle cases by Roger G. Oatley, John A. McLeish. (available online). Table of Contents.
Remedies in tort by Lewis N. Klar… [et al.] (available online). Table of Contents.

Last revised April 11, 2024

Forms, Precedents and Quantums

Assessment of personal injury damages, 6th ed. by Christopher J. Bruce. Kelly A. Rathje & Laura J. Weir. Table of Contents.
Bullen & Leake & Jacob’s Canadian Precedents of Pleadings, 3rd ed. Table of Contents.
Consolidated Goldsmith’s damages for personal injury and death in Canada. Table of Contents.
Law of Damages by S.M. Waddams Table of Contents
Personal injury damages, by John R. Carlson, Karen D.P. Carlson. Table of Contents.
Personal injury damages in Canada, 3rd ed. by Ken Cooper-Stephenson, Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey. Table of Contents.
Personal injury pleadings, 6th ed. by Patrick Curran. Table of Contents.
Quantum of damages in Alberta whiplash cases by Litigation Consultants Corp. Table of Contents.

Electronic resources

Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- Carlson Personal Injury Quantum of Damages – Digests

Last Revised: May 10, 2024

Journals

For more information on looking for journal articles see our research guide Finding journal articles, conference materials & theses

Last revised April 12, 2024

Case Law

Print

For more information on finding cases see our research guide: Finding and Researching Cases

E-Resources

For more information on finding cases see our research guide: Finding and Researching Cases

Last revised April 12, 2024

Legislation

To access online or purchase the official versions, go to: Alberta King’s Printer

Last revised May 8, 2024

Encyclopedias

Halsbury's laws of Canada

Halsbury’s laws of Canada is a multi-volume set which includes coverage of Federal, Provincial & Territorial legislation. Also available electronically through: Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®

This encyclopedia explains the legislation and cases which govern personal injury law issues in every jurisdiction in Canada.

Titles related to personal injury Law include:

Last revised April 12, 2024

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Western)

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (C.E.D.)(Western), 4th ed. available electronically through Westlaw Canada
- has an overview of the law of damages, including footnotes to leading cases, primarily from Western Canada. The section related to personal injury is:
  - Damages

Last revised April 12, 2024

Websites and Resources

Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association – ACTLA is dedicated to advancing jurisprudence, improving the adversary system and trial by jury, promoting the administration of justice, and advocating for the public good.
Centre for Public Legal Education (CPLEA) – resources that help people understand their rights and obligations under the law
Civil Law Handbook for Self-Represented Litigants – produced by the Canadian Judicial Council
Court of King’s Bench of Alberta’s webpage on Civil Law
Alberta Court of Justice’s webpage on Civil Law
Law Central Alberta – a collection of links to law-related information and resources on justice and legal issues
Motor Vehicle Accident Claims Program – Alberta Government program for victims injured by uninsured or unknown drivers.
UBC Guide on PI
Things to know about a personal injury claim in Canada (YouTube video)

Last revised May 8, 2024

Disclaimer: As law librarians, we are pleased to provide you this resource for information and research purposes only – It is not a substitute for professional legal advice. We strive to bring you quality and current information in this resource, but we make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, accessibility, adequacy, or completeness of the information presented here. The sources featured are selected based on professional assessment and opinion, and do not constitute an endorsement, editorial, review, or guarantee.