Criminal Law – Sentencing

• Annual review of criminal law Table of Contents Also available online
• Criminal Law: Evidence, Practice and Procedure by John L. Gibson Table of Contents
  Chapter 54 provides commentary on procedural aspects of sentencing proceedings. Also Available online.
• Criminal Pleadings and Practice in Canada, 3rd ed. by Eugene G. Ewaschuk Table of Contents Chapter 18 discusses sentencing principles and provides citations to key case law. Also available online
• Guide to conducting sentencing hearings in Canada by Gregory Koturbash Table of Contents
• Handling Summary Conviction Offences 2023-2024 by the Hon. Justice Rick Libman Table of Contents
• Justice in Aboriginal Communities: Sentencing Alternatives by Ross Gordon Green Table of Contents
• The Law of Sentencing by Allan Manson Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text.
• Sentencing, 10th ed. by Clayton C. Ruby Table of Contents
• Sentencing and penal policy in Canada : cases, materials and commentary, 4th ed. by Allan Manson, Julian Roberts & Gary Trotter et al… Table of Contents
• Sentencing in Canada : essays in law, policy, and practice by David Cole & Julian Roberts Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text.
• Sentencing: The Practitioner’s Guide by Gary R. Clewley & Paul G. McDermott Table of Contents Also available as an e-text
• The Sentencing Code of Canada: Principles & Objectives by Gilles Renaud Table of Contents
• Sentencing: Principles and Practice, 2nd by Danielle Robitaille & Erin Winocur Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text.
• Sentencing Principles Procedure and Practice, 2023, 3rd ed. by Lyndon Harris & Sebastian Walker Table of Contents
• Sentencing ranges for criminal offences by Clayton Ruby & Shelia Nemet-Brown Table of Contents
• Speaking to Sentence: A Practical Guide by Gilles Renaud Table of Contents

Last revised June 11, 2024

• Published annually: Canadian Sentencing Digest: Quantum Service by R. Paul Nadin-Davis & Clarey Sproule Table of Contents
• Canada Criminal Sentencing Digest, 2nd ed. by Sheila Nemet-Brown Table of Contents
• Canada Sentencing Quantums E-Resource available through: LexisAdvance® Quicklaw®
• Rangefindr.ca – E-Resource used to find criminal sentencing ranges
• Martin’s Annual Criminal Code by J.C. Martin Table of Contents  Includes an Offence Grid which visually shows whether an offence is indictable, summary or hybrid, maximum/minimum sentences, available sentencing options, and illegal sentences.
• Tremeear’s Criminal Code: and the Following Related Statutes, Canada Evidence Act, Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, Food and Drugs Act, Narcotic Control Act, Young Offenders Act by David Watt & Michelle Fuerst Table of Contents Includes an Offence Grid

Last revised Apr. 6, 2023

• Prosecuting and Defending youth criminal justice cases, 3rd ed by Justice Brock Jones et al Table of Contents
• Youth Criminal Justice Law, 3rd ed. by Nicholas Bala & Sanjeev Anand Table of Contents
• Youth Criminal Justice Act Manual by Peter J. Harris & Miriam H. Bloomenfeld Table of Contents
  Commentary and digests are provided on sentencing principles and the sanctions possible under the YCJA. Also included are digests organized by offence. Also available online
• A Guide to the Youth Criminal Justice Act by Lee Tustin & Robert E. Lutes Table of Contents

Last revised Apr. 25, 2024

• Drug Offences in Canada, 3rd ed. by Bruce A. MacFarlane Table of Contents
• Prosecuting and Defending Drug offences, 2nd ed. by Peter M. Brauti Table of Contents
• Prosecuting and Defending drug cases, 2nd ed. by Nathan Gorham et al. Table of Contents Also available as an e-text
• Sentencing Drug Offenders by Simon Armstrong Table of Contents Also available online

Last revised Apr. 25, 2024

• Weapons Offences Manual by Peter Harris & Miriam Bloomenfeld Table of Contents Also available online

Last revised Apr. 25, 2024

• Breathalyzer Law in Canada: the Prosecution and Defence of Drinking and Driving Offences, 5th ed. by Roderick McLeod, John Takach, Murray Segal Table of Contents Also available online
• Defending Drinking, Drugs and Driving Cases by Alan Gold Table of Contents
• Drug-Impaired Driving in Canada by Nathan Baker Table of Contents Also available as an e-text
• Impaired Driving in Canada, 5th ed. by Joseph Kenkel Table of Contents
• Impaired Driving in Canada the Charter Cases, 4th ed.  by Joseph Kenkel Table of Contents

Last revised Apr. 25, 2024

• ICLR
• LexisAdvance® Quicklaw® 
• Rangfindr – electronic source for criminal sentencing ranges
• vLex Justis
• Westlaw Canada

• Canadian Criminal Cases (CCC)
• Criminal Reports (CR, CRNS)
• Motor Vehicle Reports (MVR)

A collection of the judgments of the Alberta Courts is available from CanLII. The official version of the reasons for judgment is the signed original or handwritten endorsement in the court file. If there is a question about the content of a judgment, the original court file takes precedence.

• CanLII – Alberta Court of Justice
• CanLII – Court of King’s Bench
• CanLII – Court of Appeal

The Canadian Abridgment available on: Westlaw Canada

All Canadian Summaries, Canadian Case Summaries and Canada Digest are available on: LexisAdvance® Quicklaw®

Canadian encyclopedic digest (C.E.D.) (Western), 4th ed.

Sections related to Sentencing include:

• Sentencing. 
• Youth Criminal Justice. 

The CED provides discussion of these areas of law with annotations to legislation and case law.  Additional information may be found by searching the indexes or database using the keywords “Sentence”, “Sentencing”, “Offence”, “Imprisonment’, “Fines”, “Probation”, “Suspended” and “Alternative measures”.

Also available electronically through: Westlaw Canada

Halsbury’s laws of Canada is a multi-volume set which includes coverage of Federal, Provincial & Territorial legislation. Also available electronically through: LexisAdvance® Quicklaw®

Titles related to Sentencing include:

• Controlled Drugs and Cannabis (HDS)
• Criminal Procedure (HC2)
• Firearms, Weapons and Explosives (HFW)
• Youth Justice (HYJ)

Additional information may be found under other topical headings.

• Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) available electronically on Westlaw Canada and Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
• Current index to Legal Periodicals – Available electronically on HeinOnline

Additional full-text articles are available electronically through:

• vLex Justis
• Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
• Westlaw Canada – contains a collection of Canadian journals and law reviews, as well as all articles and case comments appearing in Carswell law reports.
• HeinOnline – provides full-text access to Canadian and international law reviews and legal journals.

• Canadian Criminal Law Review (Can Crim L Rev) / Revue canadienne de droit pénal (RCDP)
• Criminal Law Quarterly (Crim LQ) Also available through HeinOnline
• For the Defence Criminal Lawyers’ Association Newsletter