In this guide, you will find information, resources and links about Criminal Procedure. This includes some of the following subjects:
- Jurisdiction
- Search & Seizure
- Apprehension, Bail and Compelling Appearance
- Pleas
- Pre-trial and Trial Procedure
- Convictions
- Appeals
- Extraordinary Remedies
Texts
- Anatomy of Criminal Procedure: a Visual Guide to the Law by Stephen Coughlan & Alex Gorlewski. Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text.
- Annual review of criminal law. Table of Contents Also available online
- Canadian Criminal Procedure, 6th ed. by Roger E. Salhany Table of Contents Also available online
- Criminal Appeals: a practitioner’s handbook by Mark Halfyard, Michael Dineen & Jonathan Dawe. Table of Contents. Also available as an e-text.
- Criminal Law, 8th ed. by Kent Roach Table of Contents. This text is also available as an e-text.
- Criminal Law and Procedure: Cases and Materials, 12 ed. by Ken Roach et al. Table of Contents
- Criminal law, Evidence, Practice and procedure by John L. Gibson Table of Contents Also available online.
- Criminal Pleadings and Practice in Canada, 3rd ed. by Eugene G. Ewaschuk Table of Contents Also available online
- Criminal Practice Manual: a Practical Guide to Handling Criminal Cases by Christopher Bentley. Also available online
- Criminal Procedure, 4th ed. by Stephen Coughlan Table of Contents This text is also available as an e-text.
- Criminal Procedure in Canada, 3rd ed. by Steven Penney, Vincenzo Rondinelli & James Stribopoulos Table of Contents
- Criminal Procedure : cases and materials by Christopher Sherrin, Dale Ives & Alexandre Bien-Aime Table of Contents
- Criminal Trial Rules in Provincial Courts in Canada, Fully Annotated by Rick Libman Table of Contents
- Criminal Procedure in Canada, 2nd ed. by Tim Quigley Table of Contents Also available online
- Learning Canadian Criminal procedure, 14th ed. by Don Stuart & Tim Quigley Table of Contents
- Mack’s Criminal Law Trial Book by Dallas Mack & Miriam Fahim Table of Contents
- Search and seizure by Robert Diab & Chris D.L. Hunt Table of Contents. This text is also available as an e-text.
Last revised June 20, 2024
- The Practitioner’s Criminal Precedents, 6th ed. by Alan D. Gold Table of Contents
- Criminal Law Precedents, 2nd ed. by David Watt Table of Contents Also available electronically
Last revised Apr. 25, 2024
Case Law
For more information on finding cases see our research guide: Finding and Researching Cases.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CANLII) – Free full-text access to Canadian case law.
- ICLR
- Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- vLex Justis
- Westlaw Canada
A collection of the judgments of the Alberta Courts is available from CanLII. The official version of the reasons for judgment is the signed original or handwritten endorsement in the court file. If there is a question about the content of a judgment, the original court file takes precedence.
The Canadian Abridgment is available on: Westlaw Canada. All Canadian Summaries, Canadian Case Summaries and Canada Digest are available on: LexisAdvance® Quicklaw®
A collection of the judgments of the Alberta Courts is available from CanLII. The official version of the reasons for judgment is the signed original or handwritten endorsement in the court file. If there is a question about the content of a judgment, the original court file takes precedence.
Journals
- Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice
- Criminal Law Quarterly Also available electronically
- For the Defence Criminal Lawyers’ Association Newsletter
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) available electronically on Westlaw Canada and Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- Current index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) – Available electronically on HeinOnline
Additional full-text articles are available electronically through:
- vLex Justis
- HeinOnline Provides full-text access to Canadian and international law reviews and legal journals.
- Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- Westlaw Canada contains a collection of Canadian journals and law reviews, as well as all articles and case comments appearing in Carswell law reports.
Encyclopedias
Available electronically through: Westlaw Canada
- Halsbury’s laws of Canada This multi-volume set which includes coverage of Federal, Provincial & Territorial legislation. Also available electronically through: Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
This encyclopedia explains the procedural rules that support the implementation and enforcement of criminal law, allowing you to quickly locate, contextualize and apply the basic elements of the law. Titles related to Criminal Procedure include:
Additional information may be found under other topical headings.
Websites
- Running a Criminal Trial in Provincial Court Student Legal Services (Edmonton)
- Representing yourself in court Canadian Judicial Council
- Criminal Law Handbook
Disclaimer: As law librarians, we are pleased to provide you this resource for information and research purposes only – It is not a substitute for professional legal advice. We strive to bring you quality and current information in this resource, but we make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, accessibility, adequacy, or completeness of the information presented here. The sources featured are selected based on professional assessment and opinion, and do not constitute an endorsement, editorial, review, or guarantee.