Generally, employment refers to work in non-unionized work settings. Employment standards are the minimum standards established by law that define and guarantee rights in the workplace. Each province and territory has its own legislation.
Related topics include:
- wrongful dismissal
- human rights in the workplace
- privacy
- workplace health and safety
- worker’s compensation
- unemployment insurance
Texts
- Employment Law During a Pandemic by Sean J. O’Donnell Table of Contents
- Best Practices: Employment Policies That Work by Joan A. Bolland & Ellen E. Mole Table of Contents
- Canadian Employment Law by Stacey Ball Table of Contents Also available online
- Develop Your Own Employee Handbook by Joan A. Bolland
- Duty to Accommodate in Employment by Kevin D. MacNeill Table of Contents Also available online
- Employee Obligations in Canada by James D’Andrea Table of Contents Also available online
- Employment in Alberta, 2nd ed. by Philip McLarren Table of Contents
- Employment Law in Canada, 4th ed. by Peter Barnacle, Roderick Wood & Geoffrey England Table of Contents
- Employment law for business and human resources professionals, 5th ed. by Kathryn J. Filsinger Table of Contents
- Employment Law Manual: Wrongful Dismissal, Human Rights & Employment Standards by John R. Sproat Table of Contents Also available online
- Employment Law Solutions, 2nd ed. by Malcolm MacKillop Table of Contents
- Executive Employment Law by Elliott Stikeman Table of Contents
- Extraordinary Damages in Canadian Employment Law by Natalie C. MacDonald Table of Contents
- Human resources guide to non-standard employment by Paulette S. Haynes Table of Contents
- Illness and Disability in the Workplace: How to Navigate Through the Legal Minefield by James A. D’Andrea, David J. Corry & Heather I. Forester Table of Contents Also available online
- Individual Employment Law, 2nd ed. by Geoff England Table of Contents – Also available as an e-text
- Your Employment Standards Questions Answered: Federal and Provincial Guidance, 9th ed. by Matthew Curtis, Alison Walsh & Cristina Wendel. Table of Contents
Last revised Apr. 25, 2024
- Law of Dismissal in Canada, 3rd ed. by Howard Levitt. Table of Contents Also available online
- Termination and wrongful dismissal in Canada by Peter J. Barnacle Table of Contents
- Wrongful Dismissal Handbook, 8th ed. by John R. Sproat Table of Contents
- Wrongful Dismissal Practice Manual, 2nd ed. by Ellen Mole. Table of Contents
- You’re Fired!: Just Cause for Dismissal in Canada by Stuart Rudner. Table of Contents
Last revised Apr. 25, 2024
- Wrongful dismissal Quantums
- Wrongful dismissal notice searcher
- Best Practices: Employment Policies that work by Helen Patterson Table of Contents
- Canadian Forms & Precedents. Commercial transactions. Employment, 2nd ed. by Catherine Milne Table of Contents Also available through LexisAdvance® Quicklaw®
- Employment Contracts Handbook, 4th ed. by Cheryl J. Elliott and Stewart D. Saxe Table of Contents
Last revised Nov. 28, 2023
Case Law
For more information on finding cases see our research guide: Finding and Researching Cases
- ICLR
- Jurisprudence Library – contains employment insurance related cases
- LexisAdvance® Quicklaw®
- vLex Justis
- Westlaw Canada
Legislation
Provincial
To access or purchase the official version, go to: Alberta King’s Printer
Journals
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) – Available electronically on Westlaw Canada and Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals – Available electronically on HeinOnline
Additional full-text articles are available electronically through:
- vLex Justis
- Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®
- Westlaw Canada – contains a collection of Canadian journals and law reviews, as well as all articles and case comments appearing in Carswell law reports.
- HeinOnline – provides full-text access to Canadian and international law reviews and legal journals.
Encyclopedias
- Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (C.E.D.) (Western), 4th ed. Available electronically through: Westlaw Canada
Sections relevant to employment law include:- Employment insurance
- Employment law (Western)
- Halsbury’s laws of Canada. Available electronically through: LexisAdvance Quicklaw
This multi-volume set includes coverage of Federal, Provincial & Territorial legislation. It explains the legislation and cases which govern employment law issues in every jurisdiction in Canada.
Titles related to employment law include:- Employment (HEM)
- Additional information may be found under other topical headings.
Disclaimer: As law librarians, we are pleased to provide you this resource for information and research purposes only – It is not a substitute for professional legal advice. We strive to bring you quality and current information in this resource, but we make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, accessibility, adequacy, or completeness of the information presented here. The sources featured are selected based on professional assessment and opinion, and do not constitute an endorsement, editorial, review, or guarantee.