Finding Legal Help

Find a Lawyer

Alberta

Lawyer Referral – Law Society of Alberta
1-800-661-1095
403-228-1722 (Calgary)
Or request service via their website
They will provide contact information for up to three lawyers practicing in a specific field of law. You can then make an appointment with one, two, or all three of those lawyers. There is no charge for the first half-hour interview with each lawyer. At the end of the half-hour session, you may discuss the possibility of continuing a business relationship at full fee rates.

Legal Aid Alberta (LAA)
1-866-845-3425 (Toll Free)
They provide a range of legal services to eligible low-income Albertans in many areas of law including family, youth, criminal, and civil. To determine service and financial eligibility go to their website. All youth criminal matters are eligible for legal aid representation. Not all services provided by Legal Aid are free. Legal aid has offices in Calgary, Edmonton, Lethbridge & Red Deer.

Law Central Alberta – Finding a Lawyer

Alberta Legal Coaches and Limited Legal Services – Lawyers who provide limited services thereby allowing you to reduce costs and still have assistance when needed.

Centre Albertain D’Information Juridique / Alberta Legal Information Centre
1-844-266-5822
Provides referrals to bilingual lawyers and legal information.

Lawyer directory – Law Society of Alberta
You can search for lawyers based on the language they speak or areas of law they practice in.

Canadian-Lawyers

Canadian Law List

Martindale.com

Calgary

Calgary Legal Guidance
403-234-9266
Calgary Legal Guidance provides legal information, advice and advocacy to low income Calgarians who would not otherwise have access to legal services. If you need legal information and advice, cannot afford a lawyer and do not qualify for Legal Aid, Calgary Legal Guidance may be able to help. They also offer seminars and clinics on various legal topics.

Student Legal Assistance (SLA) – Calgary
403-220-6637
Law students provide low income Calgarians with legal services and representation in some family, criminal and civil matters. To determine if your matter is eligible for their services check their website. A small disbursement fee may apply.

Edmonton

Edmonton Community Legal Centre
780-702-1725
Provides free legal advice and evening clinics to low-income individuals in the areas of civil and administrative law. They do not assist with criminal matters. Pre book an appointment.

Student Legal Services of Edmonton
780-492-2226
Free legal assistance by students to those who don’t qualify for Legal Aid and are not able to afford a lawyer. They may assist you in court in some situations. Check their website to determine your eligibility. Their website is also a great source for information on many legal topics.

Duty Counsel and Court Support

Duty Counsel are lawyers who assist people without a lawyer and can offer limited advice. Duty Counsel services are provided free of charge.

Duty Counsel at the Courthouse for first appearances
Provided by Legal Aid.
Call 1-866-845-3425 prior to attending court if you require duty counsel assistance for your first appearance. It is available at the following dockets courts:

  • Criminal (adult and youth) courts
  • Drug treatment court (Calgary and Edmonton)
  • Emergency protection orders
  • Mental health review panel hearings
  • Bail Hearings
  • Provincial court — family and child welfare dockets (Calgary, Edmonton, Fort McMurray, Grande Prairie, St. Paul, Wetaskiwin, Red Deer and Medicine Hat)
  • Court of Queen’s Bench — family (Calgary, Edmonton, Fort McMurray, Grande Prairie, St. Paul, Wetaskiwin, Red Deer and Medicine Hat).

Virtual Civil Claims Duty Counsel (CCDC) – Provincial Court  (Dec. 2020 – Jan. 2021) Run by Pro Bono Law Alberta to assist self represented litigants with civil matters in Provincial court. Assistance is not guaranteed. They provide free 30 minute sessions to assist with:

  • Legal advice
  • Procedural information
  • Help preparing for trials, motions and other appearances
  • Help completing forms.

This program does NOT assist with:

  • Family, criminal or corporate law matters
  • Matters in Court of Queen’s Bench or other Appeal Courts
  • Pre-trial conferences and mediation.

Apply for assistance through their website or by calling 403-541-4804.

Once your application is reviewed, if you qualify you will receive assistance within 3-5 business days. For times and availability check their website.

Virtual Queen’s Bench/Masters Chambers Court Assistance Program (QBCA)
Run by Pro Bono Law Alberta to assist self represented litigants in civil matters at the Court of Queen’s bench, including Masters and Justice chambers. They can provide legal advice and assistance with court procedures, forms, trial preparation.

This program does NOT assist with:

  • Family, criminal or corporate law matters
  • Matters in Provincial Court or other Appeal Courts
  • Pre-trial conferences and mediations.

Apply for service through their website or by calling 403-541-4804.

Once your application is reviewed, if you qualify you will receive assistance within 3-5 business days. For times and availability check their website.

Emergency Protection Order Program – Legal Aid
Free service to obtain and confirm protection orders.

  • Calgary courthouse 403-297-5260 – 7th floor South
  • Edmonton 780-422-9222
  • Lethbridge 403-388-3162
  • Other areas 1-866-845-3425

Family law Duty Counsel Provincial Court and Queen’s Bench Available on your scheduled court date only

  • Calgary Courthouse – 10th Floor N (QB) room 1004 & 12th Floor S. (PC)
  • Also provided in the Edmonton, Fort McMurray, Grande Prairie, Medicine Hat, Red Deer, St. Paul & Wetaskiwin courthouses.

Elizabeth Fry Society of Calgary
Provides assistance to women and youth in criminal court in the Calgary Courthouse on the 2nd floor traffic, 4th floor criminal, 5th floor domestic violence and 7th floor family court. They also have offices on the main floor of the courthouse and provide regional court liasons in Airdrie, Canmore, Cochrane, Didsbury, and Okotoks.

Elizabeth Fry Society of Edmonton
780-422-4775
Located on the 4th Floor Provincial Courthouse Edmonton
Provides assistance to women in criminal court in Edmonton, and they also provide regional court liasons in Stony Plain, St. Albert, Morinville, Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Wetaskiwin, Camrose, Ponoka, and Red Deer. They will help explain court procedures, terminology, provide emotional support.

Homefront Assist (Calgary)
403-206-2100
The Domestic Violence Intervention & Resource Team (DVIRT) provide victims support through the court process. Their services are provided free of charge. You must be referred to them by the Calgary Police Services.

Native Counselling Services of Alberta – Courtwork program
Find the phone number for your local office through the contact tab on their website.
They provide province wide in and out of court assistance in Criminal, Family & Traffic court for Indigenous youth and adults.

Self-Representation Resources

Online

For further assistance with Alberta court procedures see the Alberta courts tab in this guide.

Podcasts

In Print

Legal Assistance

Province-Wide

Alberta Courts – Resolution and Administration Services Contact Centre
1-855-738-4747

Will help answer your court related questions or direct you to an appropriate resource.

Support Services for Albertans
Provides a list of services located near you. Listing developed by Legal Aid.

Emergency Protection order Program – Legal Aid
Free service that provides help to obtain and confirm protection orders.

  • Calgary courthouse 403-297-5260 – 7th floor South
  • Edmonton 780-422-9222
  • Lethbridge 403-388-3162
  • Other areas 1-866-845-3425

Office of the Child & Youth Advocate Alberta
1-800-661-3446

Provides lawyers for children and youth in intervention matters

Alberta Civil Liberties Research Centre
403-284-0945
Will assist with questions about civil liberties and human rights.

Alberta Human Rights Commission
780-427-7661 – Edmonton (Confidential Inquiry Line)

403-297-6571 – Calgary (Confidential Inquiry Line)

Toll Free within Alberta dial 310-0000 and then enter one of the phone numbers above.
An Independent commission of the Government of Alberta. They help Albertans resolve human rights complaints.

Alberta Human Services – Office of the Public Guardian & Trustee (OPGT)
1-877-427-4525

They provide information and assistance in obtaining guardianship. Also, they will assist with burial and may help with the administration of the estate when someone dies and no one is willing or available to settle their affairs.

Alberta Justice and Solicitor General
Responsible for the administration of justice, including information on victim’s services, legal services for vulnerable persons, corrections, prosecutions, and policing.

Alberta Ombudsman
Toll Free 1-888-455-2756
403-297-6185 – Calgary
780-427-2756 – Edmonton
Investigates complaints of unfair treatment by provincial government authorities and designated professional bodies.

Native Counselling Services of Alberta
Find the phone number for your local office through the contact tab on their website.
They provide in and out of court assistance in Criminal, Family & Traffic court for Indigenous youth and adults.

Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Alberta
780-422-6860 (Edmonton)
1-888-878-4044 (Toll free)
Investigates privacy complaints regarding the collection and use of personal or health information.

Public Interest Law Clinic University of Calgary 403-220-4814

Pro Bono Law Alberta
Primarily low-income Albertans unable to obtain Legal Aid are able to access pro bono clinics or programs operating throughout Alberta and including those at the Calgary and Edmonton Courthouses. Ability to access their programs or clinics may be based on financial eligibility. PBLA does not provide legal advice directly to members of the public you must attend one of their clinics.

Workers’ Resource Centre
403-264-8100 or Toll Free 1-844-435-7972
Free and confidential services for various employment related issues. Appointments are needed.

For more information see the tab for Duty Counsel in this guide.

Calgary

Calgary Legal Guidance
403-234-9266
A non profit organization whose lawyers and law students help people who are charged with less serious offences. Staff accept or reject applications for assistance on a case-by-case basis.

Kerby Centre for the 55 plus
403-265-0661 or 403-234-9266
Wednesdays 10-12
Calgary Legal Guidance provides free legal assistance for low income adults 65+ preparing wills, powers of attorney, personal directives etc .A commissioner of oaths is also available. By appointment only, available Wednesdays and Thursdays.

Student Legal Assistance (SLA) – Calgary
403-220-6637
Law students provide low income Calgarians with legal services and representation in family, traffic, criminal and civil matters (claims up to $50,000). To determine if your matter is eligible for their services check their website. A small disbursement fee may apply.

Homefront Assist
403-206-2100
The Domestic Violence Intervention & Resource Team (DVIRT) provide victims support through the court process. Their services are provided free of charge. You must be referred to them by the Calgary Police Services.

Elizabeth Fry Society of Calgary
403-294-0737 or Toll Free 1-877-398-3656
The Elizabeth Fry Society works with, and on behalf of, low income women involved with the justice system, particularly women in conflict with the law. They help with various matters including landlord and tenant, employment, immigration, family and administrative law. They provide information on court procedure, plea options, process and provide assistance filling out forms. They also provide referrals to duty counsel and other community and legal resources.

Court Support Program
1-888-327-7828
Free service that assists victims of crime and witnesses for the crown by providing them with court information, preparation and accompaniment to court.

Child Witness Court Preparation – 403-289-8385

Chinese Community Service Association
403-265-8446
Provide legal information, and referrals. They also hold clinics on immigration matters and wills & estates.

Women’s Centre of Calgary
403-264-1155
They offer free 30 minute legal advice appointments to women, for preliminary matters and next steps. They do not assist with criminal matters.

Edmonton

Edmonton Community Legal Centre
780-702-1725
Provides free legal advice and evening clinics to low-income individuals in the areas of civil and administrative law. They do not assist with criminal matters. Pre book an appointment.

Elizabeth Fry Society of Edmonton
780-422-4775 or Toll Free 1-866-421-1175
They work with low income women involved with the justice system, particularly women in conflict with the law. They help with various matters including landlord and tenant, employment and family. They provide access to court workers who provide information on court procedure, plea options, process and forms. They also provide referrals to duty counsel and other community and legal resources.

Student Legal Services of Edmonton
780-492-2226
Free legal assistance by students to those who don’t qualify for Legal Aid and are not able to afford a lawyer. They may assist you in court in some situations. Check their website to determine your eligibility. Their website is also a great source for information on many legal topics.

Fort McMurray

Grande Prairie

Grande Prairie Legal Guidance
780-882-0036
Provides free legal advice and information to low-income individuals who do not qualify for legal aid. Legal representation is not available.

Lethbridge

Lethbridge Legal Guidance
403-380-6338
Provides free legal advice and information to low-income individuals who do not qualify for legal aid.

Lloydminster

Medicine Hat

Medicine Hat Legal Help Centre
403-712-1021
Volunteer lawyers provide legal advice during evening legal clinics. Clients must meet certain eligibility requirements. Legal representation is not available.

Central Alberta Community Legal Clinic

Red Deer

Central Alberta Community Legal Clinic (Red Deer) 403-314-9129 or 1-877-314-9129 (Toll Free)
Provide free legal advice to people throughout Central Alberta who do not qualify for Legal Aid.

Women’s Outreach Provides legal information and referrals.

Legal Clinics and Workshops

Provincial

Alberta Civil Liberties Research Centre
Seminars on various topics throughout the province

Bearpaw Legal Education and Resource Centre
780-451-4002
Provide many workshops on request, throughout the province, on topics such as divorce, going to court, kids and the law and traffic violations.

Centre for Public Legal Education Alberta
Provide online and on demand workshops on a number of legal topics.

Edmonton Community Legal Center
Provide video recordings on various different topics.

Office of the Public Guardian & Trustee (OPGT)
YouTube videos

Pro Bono Law Alberta (PBLA) Provide various legal clinics throughout the province.

Portage College Public Legal Education (PLE) 
Provide various seminars on a variety of legal topics

Calgary

BLG Business Venture Clinic
For entrepreneurs or those starting up a business, law students will assist your legal questions.

Calgary Legal Guidance – clinics
Provide various clinics for specific matters at multiple venues across the city check out their website for full details.

Do your own divorce clinic – Calgary Legal Guidance
403-234-9266

Calgary Public Library The library partners with Calgary Legal Guidance, Alberta Law Libraries and other organizations to present various legal programs throughout the year. Type Legal in the keyword search box to see what is currently available.

Elizabeth Fry Society of Calgary – Community Awareness Program 403-294-0737 Provide workshops on various issues for women immigrants

Tax Court Assistance Program
403-220-6637
The program assists low-income Calgarians with tax dispute resolution. Call to make an appointment.

Public Interest Law Clinic
For those who want to change the system, in regards to the environmental assessment process, landlord-tenant dispute resolution and environmental protection.

Edmonton

Seniors Association of Greater Edmonton
Provide seminars on guardianship and co-decision making for seniors

Edmonton Public Library
The library presents programs on Law, including the “Family Law Series” in partnership with the Edmonton Community Legal Centre. To find programs, under “event type” select more followed by jobs, money & the law

Do your own divorce clinic
780-492-8244 (Student legal services)
Presented monthly, call to make an appointment.

Edmonton Community Legal Centre – legal education seminars

Lethbridge

Lethbridge Legal Guidance
403-380-6338

“Know before you go” seminars provide an overview of issues relating to separation and/or divorce. Call to book a spot in the next session.

Tuesday Evening Legal advice clinics for a variety of legal issues including family law, guardianship/trusteeship, small claims, civil (employment, landlord & tenant), personal injury and criminal law. Please call ahead to book an appointment.

Medicine Hat

Medicine Hat Public Library
Presents programs in partnership with the Medicine Hat College Legal Education Program and the Alberta Law Foundation. Look in their program brochure “What’s On” to see topics.

Red Deer

Red Deer Public Library
Presents programs as part of the “Public Legal Education Series” in partnership with the Central Alberta Community Legal Clinic.

Women’s Outreach
403-347-2480

Alberta Courts

General

Alberta Courts

Alberta Court locations

Court Calendar

Resolution and Court Administration Services Contact Centre
1-855-738-4747 (Toll Free)
Monday to Friday 8:15am – 4:30pm

Court Support Program
1-888-327-7828
Free service that assists victims of crime and witnesses for the crown by providing them with court information, preparation and accompaniment to court.

Court Fees & Waivers in Alberta
Waiving a filing fee

Court Generated orders Court of Queen’s bench Family and civil

Court clerks will prepare orders granted by the court for self represented litigants in QB family and civil matters.

Resolution and Court Administration Services (RCAS) Can help you with civil and criminal matters in the Court of Queen’s Bench and the Provincial Court of Alberta. They can provide assistance with general court procedures and alternatives to court. They can also help locate and explain court forms, explain the steps to take in making legal applications, and refer you to other resources.
Locations in Alberta:

  • Calgary courthouse 7th floor N.
  • Edmonton – John E. Brownlee Building 8th Floor
  • Grande Prairie courthouse main floor
  • Red Deer courthouse main floor

Family Law Assistance only:

  • Lethbridge courthouse
  • Medicine Hat courthouse

Emergency Protection order Program – Legal Aid Free service that provides help to obtain and confirm protection orders.

  • Calgary courthouse 403-297-5260 – 7th floor South
  • Edmonton 780-422-9222
  • Lethbridge 403-388-3162
  • Other areas 1-866-845-3425

Provincial Court

Court of Queen's Bench

Court of Appeal

Other

Forms

Alternative Dispute Resolution & Mediation

For information on Alternative Dispute resolution and Mediation see our guide with that name.

Translation services

Alberta courts provide translators for criminal and child welfare matters only. If you require a translator or translation services for another matter the services below may be able to assist you.

Areas of Law

General Information

Aboriginal

For more information on aboriginal law see our research guide: Aboriginal Law

Abuse, Harassment and Violence

If you are experiencing domestic violence, call 1-866-606-7233  to get connected with resources.

Calgary Communities against Sexual abuse Police and court education and support program
1-877-237-5888
Provide information on your rights, and options and will attend meetings with the police or crown prosecutor. Also provide court orientation sessions.

Emergency Protection order Program – Legal Aid
Free service that provides help to obtain and confirm protection orders.
Calgary courthouse 403-297-5260 – 7th floor South
Edmonton 780-422-9222
Lethbridge 403-388-3162
Other areas 1-866-845-3425

Restraining and protection orders – with the Alberta courts
Get an Emergency Protection orderRestraining order overviewApplying for an Emergency Protection Order (EPO)Review hearing for EPO

Domestic and Sexual violence resources in the Calgary area  – Calgary Domestic Violence Collective

Homefront Assist
403-206-2100
The Domestic Violence Intervention & Resource Team (DVIRT) provide victims support through the court process. Their services are provided free of charge. You must be referred to them by the Calgary Police Services.

Chinese Community Response to Family Violence (Calgary) – 403-261-7956

Elder Abuse

Abuse of persons in care

Bankruptcy and Foreclosure

Bylaws & Traffic

Charity & Not-For-Profit

Complaints against Lawyers

Consumer

Criminal

Employment

Services

Information

Employment standards

Rules & regulations & filing a complaint

For further information see our research guides: Employment and Labour

Family

Property Division

Child Custody and Access

Child and Spousal Support

Maintenance Enforcement

Resolution and Court Administration Services online courses

For Domestic abuse issues see the tab Abuse, Harassment and Violence.

For further information on Family law see our other research guide: Family Law

Videos

Landlord & Tenant & Property

Landlord and tenant law publications and forms
The following publications and more are available from CPLEA:

Property

Human Rights

Immigration

Police

Private Prosecution

Record Suspension (formally called pardons)

Seniors

For information on elder abuse see the tab on Abuse Harassment and Violence.

Victims

Wills, Personal Directives & Power of Attorney

Youth

Other Resources

Alberta’s Province Wide Service Directory – Provides information on various services across the province and allows you to search by location.

Alberta Health Advocate

Alberta Supports – Provides access to over 30 programs and 120 community services in areas such as homelessness, bullying, and disabilities

Service Alberta – Provides information on many topics including consumer protection, housing and vehicles.

Social Benefits Advocacy Program – Calgary Legal Guidance. They can help guide you with accessing social benefit programs including AISH, Alberta Works and Alberta/Child Health benefit.

Motor Vehicle Accident Claims Program –  780-427-8255 Toll Free within Alberta dial 310-0000 and then enter the phone number above. They protect victims injured by uninsured or unknown drivers.

Sorce –  403-428-3300 (Calgary) They provide a collaborative service between many Calgary based organizations.

Victim Services Alberta –  780-427-3460 Toll Free within Alberta dial 310-0000 and then enter the phone number above. They provide services throughout the province. For locations check the website.


John Howard Society They assist with the transition from prison, may help with records suspensions and offer various other services to help reduce crime. Services vary depending on the location. See the locations below for the one nearest you.

We connect you to the world of legal information in an open and innovative environment.

When you need it. How you need it.